Realizations after the flood.. Yeh!^^

 

 

I have been thinking.  I mean, I didn’t recognize it at first, but I told myself that there must be something that I have learned from what has happened.  So while I walk towards my boarding house, I’ve been thinking…  What has the flood had done to my attitude?

 

[1] I have learned that, in times of crisis and disasters, I can handle things calmly and without panic.   My roommate has a PC in our room.  So when the flood came, it was the number priority.  I thought that we would not make it because the water was so fast that it almost got into the PC’s cables and stuff.  I first got the extension cord, and then went to her CPU to unplug all the cables.  Well, it wasn’t easy.  My roommate was in a panic and I was in the hurry.  I carried the CPU into my lap and without panic I unplug, unscrew, and held every cable that was connected to the unit.  I ask her to be calm and to get the PC’s box on the top cabinet.  I also told her to help me put her CPU into the box.  Then, I started removing her flat screen monitor and put it into the box.  I also got her printer into my arms and put it again to the top shelf. We put all the boxes on the top shelf, hoping that the water won’t get too high.  Well, after that, the water got too high that it reached my upper abdomen.  I thought that we still have time to get the rest of out things to be saved.  This is where I found another lesson. [2] I have learned that I can make the right decisions.  After saving the PC, I thought of clothes.  I looked around and found this big plastic bag of my clothes, partly wet but they can be still used.  I got that and I saw this basket of toiletries on top of my steel cabinet.  I never thought that it will be very useful during that time but was told by my intuition to get those (read the book, ‘Blink’ by Malcolm Gladwell and you’ll know what I am talking about.). Anyway, the water was as high as my underarms and I felt like I should move to the second floor [Thank God we have another floor].

 

[3] I have learned that I really like helping others.  The flood came out really fast, so I had a split-second decision whether I should help my roommate in saving her PC.  So I chose to help her. I also helped her by telling her to be calm and not to panic.  It gave me this relief that I had helped somebody.  She’s glad that her PC is safe now.  And I am also happy with that. :]

 

[4] I have learned that material things can be bought back, but life can’t. I have lost a lot of things: my books, my clothes, my school uniform, my CDs, and stuff.  But I am glad that God, at some point, gave me the chance that others, those who died in the flood, didn’t get—Life.  That flash flood was the worst in Panay and a lot of people lost their houses, vehicles, pets, business, money… But the important thing is that we were given another life.

 

[5] I have learned that there are people who cared for me.  After the flood, there was no electricity.  My phone’s dead.  So as soon as I had my battery fully-charged, I received messages from people and friends and I was glad that there are some people who cared at all, especially <*ahem*>.  Nevermind. :))

 

[6] This flood isn’t just a disaster, it is also serendipity.  Everything happens for a reason.  I already knew that, but this flood serves as the proof.  I believed that this was nature’s turn for being cruel to our environment.  But at the same time, the flood is a realization that we should not take things for granted. I also believe that this flood made us realize things about life, ourselves, and everything.  This can be something that can make us change, whether it is for better or for worse.  For me, this flood is a blessing in disguise, also most people may not notice it.

 

And finally, [7] I have learned that without adequate resources, which include <*ahem*> MONEY, you can’t really survive the whole week.

 

As of now, I feel like I am maturing into a new person.  And I guess I am not rushing maturity. I want to take this slowly.  Maybe someday I’ll be someone that I always wanted to be and because of what has happened, it made me realize some points.  But those points should be kept within myself, so I didn’t include other realizations.  What is important is that I have learned something and made something that is fulfilling to myself and others.  It made me feel contented, if not happy, because happiness is not really easy to get.  So as of now, I am partly happy with myself but I am contented of who I am today.  This doesn’t mean that I do not want more but it meant that what has happened helped a lot in changing me.  And still, I am the same person you know. =]

 

^^

Published by: nuthin2say

This is the blog of a person who has been won, defeated, won again.. Because life is just like that. Jamie, aka nuthin2say, is a pseudonym. She can be found in other places in the internet, using the online name jhamiefloatie. Her thoughts spewed words that created this blog. This contained her frustrations and victories towards her journey through life. This blog was born circa 2008. Most of the posts are from her teenage years.

Categories Online Diaries and F*cked Up Life StoriesLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

